22 Comments

I am always fascinated by people who travel and the idea of living in other countries, so I look forward to your series, Kate! I also enjoy watching documentaries about travel, TV shows set in other countries, and reading books about travelling. And yet...I am not a traveller myself! Friends and family often joke about how me and my husband like to stay close to home, but we do love to explore local environments and currently have a 'fun list' on our phones where we note down places we would like to visit when we have time off together! I do think that over the next few years, as our youngest child moves on to University, we will venture a bit further, as there are lots of places we would be interested in visiting. In the meantime, I shall enjoy 'travelling' along with your newsletter :)

Expand full comment
author

I think you can do so much travelling this way! I guess for me travelling is also just experiencing anything with fresh eyes and also for culture -- just seeing what’s really around us. I love all the places I’ve been in England. I think it’s not a bad place to be exploring :)

Expand full comment
Jul 4, 2023Liked by Dr. Kathleen Waller

I’ve been living abroad and traveling for the good part of a year.

I wanted to travel to see things, experience new cultures, and meet new people.

I’ve found that as I travel, I tend to meet other expats like myself as I’ve run into some language barrier.

This might be a hot take but I think that everyone needs to travel less. We’ve fetishized traveling to new places to a point that it’s annoying.

I’m arguing against travel because it’s become something of “me me me” for example, if you don’t have photos to share, we’re you ever rally there?

Also the climate impacts are horrible, not to mention the fact that we’re forming over our money to airline companies who treat us like cattle.

Idk, I’m saying this from a point of privilege because I’ve gotten to travel more than many do in their whole lives b it I’m really starting to think people should travel less

Expand full comment
author
Jul 4, 2023·edited Jul 4, 2023Author

Thanks a lot for this perspective, Mike. The impact on the Earth is especially so important and maybe 'travel near home' (I mean down new streets or hiking trails...) could be just as valuable.

You might find my friend Alki's writing interesting. She worked in sustainable energy and now educates business and schools about how to make less carbon footprint. Here, she talks about train travel.

https://medium.com/@alkidel/on-that-midnight-train-to-lisbon-3d5ab15fcd58

Expand full comment
Jul 4, 2023Liked by Dr. Kathleen Waller

thanks so much! I really wished the US had a better train infrastructure

Expand full comment
Jul 5, 2023Liked by Dr. Kathleen Waller

Good perspective, Mike.

Social media hasn't helped this. I hate the obsession over photos/videos that social media has created. Often I'll see people just not truly there in the moment.

But, photos are still incredibly important memories and I'm so grateful we have the technology we do now. I just wish that FB, TikTok etc didn't exist and that the reason for taking photos by some was for genuine memories, not for The Likes. (Gross overgeneralisation, of course 😅)

Climate impacts are an increasing concern, as well as costs. It's a major downside of having decided to move to the other side of the world, away from family.

Expand full comment
Jul 5, 2023Liked by Dr. Kathleen Waller

Where to begin!

I've been very very lucky to have travelled so much, both as a child and as an adult. My parents are keen explorers and helped to make sure my brother and I had a lot of exposure to culture and sights when growing up. I'm grateful for that. My wife is also an avid traveller, more so than me I'd say. (I've benefitted, I suppose, from moving to live abroad in my mid-twenties, something that I suspect I'd be more cautious of now, but at the time was essentially a snap-decision at the conclusion of my PhD.)

Strangely, I both love and dislike travel. I love the act of travel, being immersed in it, the wonder at new places, sights, sounds, vistas, nature etc. But I loathe the organisation, the act of booking, the cost, the payment, the fretting over little things and the what-ifs, some aspect of adulthood bringing in anxiety that was never there when I was younger.

Again, thankfully my wife has NONE of that, so she makes sure we push ahead with choices, reassures me that I won't regret the spending etc.

Travel is also somehow a means to reassess perspective on your life. Everything can be so different when travelling that sometimes I'll return home and re-appreciate various things. That's as much necessary for me as the actual act of travelling and experiencing the elsewhere.

As others have noted, I'm more and more aware now of the climate impact of long-distant travelling and am mindful of that. We've sought more local adventures, which is lovely, but our families being spread across the world necessitates either a giant reshuffle in where we live or an acceptance of costs to be together one a year or so.

OK, long ramble. I better get back to some work ;)

Expand full comment
author

So much of this resonates with me. I traveled a lot locally as a kid and through the US (which is huge of course) but didn't start international travel until my 20s and was so fascinated by it that I just kept going I guess. Like you, family around the world necessitates more travel than I would sometimes like. I know I still have a ton I could learn by visiting more places and cultures, but yes the environment is a factor as well as wanting maybe simpler things or slower experiences? Not sure. I didn't say it outright in response to Victoria and Kate on these comments, but we are planning to move to the UK in the near future and likely that will entail a much simpler travel life. I'm really looking forward to that. At least the bi-monthly trip to the in-laws can be replaced by time in our new local.

That's great about your wife-team-travel-planner! For us, if it's summer, it's my husband; if it's snow-time, it's me. Often we go on our own or just one of us with our kid (to family or even to ski, for example). This is the other part of why I like it; just for some space and independence, even though it's nice to also go all together.

Currently we are in a little apartment in the south of France not doing much at all, which is great. I mean, I can eat cheese and drink rosé all day long. It's also cheaper than staying and doing nothing in Switzerland :)

Expand full comment
Jul 7, 2023·edited Jul 7, 2023Liked by Dr. Kathleen Waller

Sorry it's taken me so long to respond to this. Last few days have been wheeeeeeeeee (didn't help I was trying to write and edit and post a piece for my self-inflicted weekly deadline, haha).

Anyway... thanks for all this detail. Good luck with the move to the UK and the change of pace. Having Europe on your doorstep still is a boon, though, especially with access via e.g. train from London to Paris.

I very much like the sound of the cheese and wine life in the south of France! That sounds idyllic. Someday that'll be my writing retreat.

We went to Italy and Switzerland a year ago and whoah was I shocked at the prices. I knew it was going to be expensive (and it's not like Melbourne is cheap in any way), but wow. I had the most expensive burger I've ever eaten. Granted, it was delicious, but it still cost me the equivalent of about three gourmet burgers here, hehe.

Expand full comment
author

I have yet to read your piece! That's next...

Thanks for the well wishes. Agree, London area (ok, or maybe an hour or two from London...) is really not bad with the train travel to (aaaahhhhh) Paris and elsewhere. Planes as well, of course, though much less environmentally friendly! I could sail to Bretagne as well. :)

I'm not sure I'm retreating here for writing, but yes, it would be a fantastic space for it. Really anywhere in France I think. This is due to said wine and cheese as well as my love for the language.

The Swiss food is generally good but not as good as in France. However, raclette and fondue are fantastic and can be created at home for much less cost! Dinner once a week in the winter is raclette in our home.

But we don't have coffee, seafood, or avocados like Melbourne!

Expand full comment

Heh, yes, each place holds its own specialties. The coffee here truly is some of the world's best, I think. And, as the saying goes, many people don't own houses due to paying for so many smashed avo brunches ;)

Expand full comment
author

Also your snap decision is interesting! Isn't it funny when we just do wild things like this? Sounds like it worked out for you! And maybe your travel as a kid gave you the courage to do it.

Expand full comment
Jul 5, 2023Liked by Dr. Kathleen Waller

Yeah, so there's a whole hidden layer to the snap decision, too 😂😬

Backstory. Over a wine someday.

But I agree, I'm sure travelling a lot as a kid and teenager helped with the independence and confidence to just do it.

Saw your other reply, will get to it tomorrow so I can write more.

Expand full comment
author

All good, my friend. Take your time.

Look forward to that wine story! ;) And some of my 'family' (friends) are in Melbourne, so it won't be too long.

Expand full comment

Like Kate, I have also not travelled much. But, the places I have been to, have left me with some special memories. I also like to explore nearby, the north of England holds such beauty! I’m looking forward to your new series, though. Very well-timed for summer :)

Expand full comment
author

I guess I would say the same as I just replied to Kate Jones! I need to see more in the north of England. We almost moved to Carlisle three years ago, so I would be stomping those grounds as well.

Expand full comment

I think I’ve only been to Carlisle once... when I went on the Settle to Carlisle railway. I look forward to travelling with your newsletter.

Expand full comment
Jul 4, 2023Liked by Dr. Kathleen Waller

You sum up my thoughts on travel: the benefits, delights, hassle...the ability to explore using documentaries and books without even leaving your armchair. I wrote a piece on travel last year called "What we did on our holidays" in which I talked about what I look for in a holiday, and why I think it's important to go to the places that interest you. I write scribbly notes whilst travelling and I've found them extremely useful later for practical and creative reasons. I haven't travelled outside the UK for years, but when I did I loved speaking other languages even though I am not fluent in any but English.

You must have had some very enriching experiences living in 7 countries - even a bit of travelling is good for you, so actually living in different countries must enhance your perception of things so much.

Expand full comment
author

Could you share the link here? Would love to read it.

I also like using even little bits of foreign language. I think it shows respect and interest in others - amazing how far hello and thank you can take you!

Thanks Jules.

Expand full comment
Jul 4, 2023Liked by Dr. Kathleen Waller

Yes I've got some funny stories about hits and misses with language. Even mistakes make for some lovely experiences. I can't seem to find out how to remove the paywall on the travel piece but I'll include the link anyway.

https://juliadpickering.substack.com/p/what-we-did-on-our-holidays

Expand full comment
author

REally enjoy your list and word collage, as well as the idea that what means 'holiday' can vary so much person to person. Thank you!

Expand full comment
deletedJul 9, 2023Liked by Dr. Kathleen Waller
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

Oh yes the “American” thing...I feel that. I think one can both be and not be :)

Funny, also narrowly missed a Kuwait job, however due to the pandemic.

Scotland trip sounds fantastic! I’ve only been to the cities (which I loved) and dying to do some hiking there! Enjoy.

Expand full comment